The Power of Hello.

So this week something pretty crazy happened to me. I was invited to audition for Hello, Dolly! on Broadway. I wish you all could have seen my face when I got the phone call. Now first, I didn’t get it BUT when I tell you, you couldn’t wipe the smile off my face in that room as I was living out my dream auditioning for a musical on Broadway.

Now the story of how this all came to be is my favourite part.

Last Saturday I got to go on board the Regal Princess which was the last ship I performed on. I was there for the New York premiere of their newest show “Born to Dance” created in partnership with Stephen Schwartz! So needless to say there was a lot of Broadway royalty in the room and I was musical theatre geeking out big time hahaha. Well, I saw one of my theatre teachers there, I noticed there were people around him so at first, I was like I should just leave it but then thought no Jared just go over and say hello! So I did and one of the people that was with him (unbeknown’s to me) was the Casting Director of Hello, Dolly! After I left He asked my teacher who I was and then fast forward to Tuesday morning and I get a call asking for me to come in and audition the next day…all from having the confidence to say hello!

Another thing this reminded me of, is that in life you just never know who is watching or who is around you, especially in this industry, so you gotta always be on! Also be prepared! Y’all should have seen me running around New York like a crazy person printing headshots and resumes, you better believe I’m just gonna have 10 of those sitting in my bag at all times from now on hahaha.

So that was my crazy last 24 hours. I am truly so blessed and am so excited to see all my hard work paying off. However, my journey is only just beginning and I have so much more to learn, but for now, I get to make one big mark against one of my goals;

Audition for a Broadway show ✔️

Until next time,

Jared xx

Author: Jared Mifsud

After working full time as a dancer/singer for the last six years Jared is taking the huge step of moving to New York City to pursue a career on Broadway. This blog will follow the day to day adventures and struggles that every performer faces especially when moving to a new city.

Leave a comment