Sunrise Sunset

So about three years ago my parents moved over to a small island off the coast of Brisbane called Stradbroke Island, so naturally, when I returned home from New York it made sense to go and live with mum on the island. It truly is a slice of paradise merely a 20-minute ferry ride from Brisbane, with some of the most spectacular beaches and scenery as I’m sure you’ve seen from my Instagram stories for those who follow me. Not only that, but I have seen some of the most spectacular sunrises and sunsets.

I was struggling quite a bit to come up with a subject to write about for this weeks post and it wasn’t until this afternoon as my Dad picked me up from the ferry and we went back to his property that I thought about the sunset and then it came to me, so I am currently sat down by the water on my Dad’s property as I type this post (picture attached at the end).

There is something truly magical about a Sunrise and a Sunset; they hold so many different meanings. Sunrise is the dawning of a new day, a fresh start, new possibilities, adventures and the promise of things to come. There’s also something truly invigorating about a Sunrise. I remember last year when I was in New York and I had a very early start during the lead up to the showcase I did as part of my program. I had to leave home at 6:30am and that meant I was up at 5:30 and I am not a morning person at all! But as I stepped out the front door and started walking to the train station the first thing I saw was this beautiful streak of pink arching its way through the sky and I couldn’t help but stop and smile and that early morning was worth it just to see the beautiful sky above me.

Sunset brings with it the closing of the day, the end of a chapter. It can be a time of reflection as you watch the colours dancing in the sky above you as the sun slowly makes it decent. I know I have spent many quiet moments down by the water or on my rooftop in New York, simply watching the sunset and taking a moment to be grateful for everything I have (with a glass of wine in my hand of course!). It’s also the perfect time to acknowledge the things that may not have gone the way you wanted during the day. Take the time to acknowledge it, learn from it and then let them go for tomorrow there will be a new sunrise ushering in a new day.

So wherever in the world you may be reading this, my challenge to you today is to take a moment, to stop and pause as the sun rises or sets and to go through the things you are grateful for that day. One of my favourite phrases I got from the program I did in New York and that I have mentioned on this blog before is having an “Attitude of Gratitude” and this is something I’ve definitely had to remind myself lately. So I’m going to get us started.

Today as I sit and watch the sunset and type this post I am grateful for wonderful friends who make my life all the richer for their presence in it. Thank you to Talisa and Jonathon who made the trip over to Straddie (as we locals call it) for lunch on Saturday, George and Shaun who’s place is always open to me when I need to stay in Brisbane and to my darling Gwen for a fabulous brunch date today. Life has truly blessed me with so many wonderful people and I am forever grateful to all of you.

Remember that Attitude of Gratitude.

Until next week,

Jared xx

 

IMG_6967
This was my view as I wrote this post. It seems the sun really wanted to impress and live up to its reputation. 

 

Author: Jared Mifsud

After working full time as a dancer/singer for the last six years Jared is taking the huge step of moving to New York City to pursue a career on Broadway. This blog will follow the day to day adventures and struggles that every performer faces especially when moving to a new city.

Leave a comment