The Six P’s

Growing up I was very blessed to have parents who were consistently pushing myself, my brother and my sister, to be the best that we can be. There is one particular phrase my mum and dad used to say ALL the time that has stuck with me to this day and I wanted to share it with you all today,

“Prior Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!”

The six P’s!!

During this time of being at home while I work on processing my O1 visa, I have A LOT of time to think and reflect. Recently a very close family friend passed away suddenly. Death is never easy and always provides moments of reflection and in this case, I’ve been reflecting especially on my upbringing, which is what made me think of the Six P’s phrase.

This particular motto has carried me throughout my career. Prior planning is such an important life skill for anybody to have no matter the industry you are involved in. The more prepared you are the more ready you are for any challenge that might come your way! Right now back in New York audition season is in full swing (which I am very jealous of right now as I sit at home in my island paradise typing this…I had to say something to make myself feel a bit better about missing it hehe) so it got me thinking about the things one can do the night before an audition to make sure one is 100% ready for whatever may come the next day.

Your audition bag! Every performer has one and it is what will get you through a long day of auditioning. It will contain things such as:

  • Dance shoes (every type, for every style cause you never know what they might ask of you)
  • Your book which has all your audition songs in it
  • Water!!!! Pretty self-explanatory
  • Quick and easy snacks which you can have between callbacks or between running to the next audition
  • Multiple copies of your headshot and resume cause you just never know who you’re going to run into
  • Changes of clothes cause you know, dancers sweat…a lot.
  • A book cause there can be a lot of waiting around to be seen so it’s nice to have something to pass the time
  • Extra battery/charger for your phone
  • And this last one is something that I have implemented recently and that is, a little notebook to write down what I thought did well and what I can work on from each audition I do. It’s a great way to reflect on your auditions and to also see how much you are learning and growing.

Obviously, this phrase doesn’t just apply to auditioning it can be used in every aspect of your life, I am so grateful to my parents for drilling this life skill into me from such an early age. So when you’re getting ready for that next big audition, life event, assignment, exam or whatever it may be, just remember;

Prior Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!!!

Until next time,

Jared xx

Author: Jared Mifsud

After working full time as a dancer/singer for the last six years Jared is taking the huge step of moving to New York City to pursue a career on Broadway. This blog will follow the day to day adventures and struggles that every performer faces especially when moving to a new city.

One thought on “The Six P’s”

  1. Well said, Jared! It’s such a pleasure getting to know you better through your blog. Thank you for the time and energy you pour into this project. Can’t wait to see what happens when you get back to the City! And please have a blast at your upcoming workshop in Brisbane!

    Like

Leave a comment