2017 – The Year of Taking Chances

Those of you who know me know that I am a huge Celine Dion fan and one of my favourite songs by her is Taking Chances and that has pretty much been my motto for 2017. Taking chances and following dreams!

I started 2017 living and working in Osaka Japan at Universal Studios. I had been there for two contracts and it was a huge step for me to make the decision to move on. It was the first time since leaving home in 2011 that I had a proper base and had made a home for myself and I was scared to leave that and the amazing friendship group I had made there who meant the world to me, but it was time. It was time to chase after my dreams.

After flying home at the beginning of April I was just in time to celebrate the wedding of my beautiful sister Laura to her wonderful husband Mitchell. It was such a gorgeous celebration of two people that are meant to be together. It was also so great to see family whom I hadn’t seen in a very long time!!! While home I also travelled to Sydney and Melbourne to see more friends and even overseas to East Timor to visit my good friends Emma and David and their gorgeous children, my babies, Claire and Logan. Then the countdown was on for my departure to New York City!!!!

I remember sitting on the plane waiting to take off and thinking holy shit, this is actually happening, I’ve never been more terrified and excited in my whole life. But taking this chance has really paid off. The last 5 months in New York have been a time in my life that I will never ever forget. From day one I fell in love with everything about this city and it truly feels like home to me. My first month here was about truly immersing myself in everything this city has to offer. Going to see shows (my tally is currently at 19!), trying all of the margaritas!!! (Seriously though, New York does some of the best margaritas I have ever tasted!!!) Exploring Central Park, trying new restaurants and best of all making new friends. Then in August is when the work really began.

I started the Professional Semester at Broadway Dance Center with a very clear goal and focus in mind. I needed to find an agent to represent me and sponsor my O1 artist visa and so I got to work. It felt so amazing being back in class and really focusing on my training and my body, getting back to the basics of my technique and relaying a strong foundation. I found some amazing teachers and mentors at BDC who truly took me under their wings and encouraged and helped me to grow even more as a performer and to all of them I am so grateful for their love and support. This program is amazing and is the perfect platform for any performer wishing to take their career to the next level and is also a fantastic way to get to know the New York dance and theatre community!

So what happens next!?!? Well after our showcase on the 3rd of December, which was in front of industry professionals as well as family and friends, I can proudly say that I was approached by three different agencies for representation and two of them were willing to sponsor my O1 artist visa!!!!! This was a huge achievement for me and a big sign that all my hard work over the last four months has paid off!! So January 9th I will return to Australia, as that is when my current visa expires and then the application process will begin for my O1. It’s A LOT of paperwork but it’s doable and I’m working with a fantastic team on it. So at this stage with everything going to plan it’s looking like I will be moving back to New York permanently around the end of March 2018!!!

2017 has taught me so much but the biggest lesson I’ve learnt is to never lose sight of your dreams, and that with consistency and hard work you can achieve them! Mindset is also a huge thing. The thought of coming back to Australia scares me a lot. Honestly, at first, I saw it as a failure, however thankfully I have some wonderful people in my life who have helped me see it as a necessary step in the next part of my journey. I have achieved so much over the last 5 months to be proud of and the best part is New York will be waiting for me to return with open arms! I went into this time in New York with a specific goal and purpose in mind and it came true, so I encourage you to start 2018 with intention and purpose and you will be amazed where it will take you. I am so excited to see what 2018 holds and my love, thoughts and energy are with you all as we walk into this New Year. Thank you again for all the love and support I have received as I took this huge leap of faith, every single message and call has been so appreciated and always came at the perfect time.

And lastly, to my amazing family, I love you all so much, Mum and Dad I don’t have enough words to say how grateful I am for your constant and unwavering support, I truly wouldn’t be where I am right now if it wasn’t for you both. This blog has been an amazing outlet for me and I am looking forward to seeing where I can take it in 2018, so keep following along!

Until Next Time,

Jared xx

Author: Jared Mifsud

After working full time as a dancer/singer for the last six years Jared is taking the huge step of moving to New York City to pursue a career on Broadway. This blog will follow the day to day adventures and struggles that every performer faces especially when moving to a new city.

One thought on “2017 – The Year of Taking Chances”

Leave a comment