Keeping the Hunger Alive

Hello everyone! I am well overdue for an update on here!!! I wanted To give you all a little idea of what the last month has been for me. I’m in the final weeks of my program here at BDC which is CRAZY, Time is going so fast!

For the last 4 weeks, we have been going through a series of “Mock Auditions” which have all been in front of actual agents and casting directors here in New York. This process has been incredible and I have learnt so much and gotten such great feedback and opportunities from them. But today was the best one of all.

For starters, we were being taught the routine by none other than THE Rachelle Rak!!!!! If you don’t know who that is please do me a favour and go google her now!!!! What made today so special though was the energy that Rachelle and the rest of the panel brought to the room. I have never felt so inspired and uplifted. One of the biggest things I took from today is that persevering and keeping the hunger alive is SO important. As artists, we need to be doing something every day that’s keeping the hunger and the dream alive. Whether that be picking a choreographer to research or taking that extra ballet class, it is all necessary and will keep you on the right track.

I also wanted to share an important lesson that I’ve learnt from these mock auditions. Don’t cast yourself before you get in the room!! This one spoke to me! We’re always thinking about what the casting director wants, let them worry about that, it’s their job. Your job is to walk into the room and give them the best representation of you. Be true to yourself don’t try to be something you’re not. This industry is full of so much fakeness, don’t feed into it. If they’re looking for an orange and you’re an apple don’t try to be an orange, be true to who you are, because you never know, maybe they’re looking for an apple for another project.

And finally, be kind. We’re all on this journey of life together, sometimes all it takes is a smile to completely change a person’s day. Hold that door for the person behind you, give that compliment and simply spread the love! I promise you’ll see such a difference in not only your energy but the energy you attract!! You get back what you put out!

The next three weeks are going to be crazy with rehearsals for our showcase which is December 3rd but I will try and get another post out soon!! Thank you again for following me on this journey, I love getting all your messages of support!

Until Next Time,

Jared xx

 

IMG_0495
Rachelle Rak and I, can’t wipe the smile off my face!

 

Author: Jared Mifsud

After working full time as a dancer/singer for the last six years Jared is taking the huge step of moving to New York City to pursue a career on Broadway. This blog will follow the day to day adventures and struggles that every performer faces especially when moving to a new city.

Leave a comment